Expanding


First off, let me say welcome to my visitors from America. Seem’s that the word is spreading across the globe about my WordPress Site. Please keep spreading the word, please keep commenting and providing feedback. It is very much appreciated.

I am still working away at ‘A Mind Not My Own’ but it is progressing a little slowly at the moment. There isn’t much going on with things in that department that I haven’t already written about. In about 9 days I will get the results of my EEG and see what happens from there. But in the mean time I have started another project. A Mind Not My Own Forums.

The forum is a work in progress but the idea is to build a community of people who suffer from Mental Illness, their friends and family. I am a member of stuckinadoorway.org which is a forum primarily for OCD sufferers, I highly recommend this forum people there have helped me understand and accept my OCD, to feel less alone. And I suppose it’s in the same spirit that I want to build a place for all mental health sufferers, their families and friends. I very much believe that there is a place for stuckinadoorway.org and will remain a member there.

The idea is for sufferers, friends and family to come together to find support, friendship and a community accepting of them, how they are, who they are, without judgement or fear. The other side of this is that when I was looking for an online forum, I was unable to find one from Australia. The thing I wanted most was for people who had/were experiencing mental health issues to point me to the best organisations to find help. So part of this will be for other sufferers etc to be able to help those looking for help find the right kind of help in their area.

I dont know when I will get to making it available etc it is something I will be working on over time. Let me know what you would like to see in the forum, your suggestions etc.

 

About malensteptoe
I am work for one of Australia's big 4 banks in the System Admin Team. I am also a mental health sufferer. Currently diagnosed with OCD, MDD, Panic Disorder, Anxiety Disorder, Agoraphobia and Trichotillomania. I also write books and a blog. I am an advocate for change of the view towards mental health sufferers. We can and are beneficial people in society, with much to offer and contribute. We are not all violent, actually the percentage of violent tendencies in the mentally ill and those without mental illness are no different. You may work with someone right next to someone with mental illness and never know. So maybe it's time to re-evaluate your opinions?

Leave a Reply

